Maps on postcards: Hawaiian Islands

15 05 2009

Another cool postcard subject, maps! This card shows a map of the islands of Hawaii. Hawaii is the 50th state of the United States of America and is situated in the Pacific Ocean, Honolulu is the capital of the state.

Hawaii is an archipelago. There are eight main islands and many small islands, they are the tops of underwater volcanoes. The main islands are Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, Maui and Hawaii. The island Niihau is owned by one family and not governed by the local state government.

Interesting places to visit are, amongst some others, Waikiki Beach, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (I’ll feature this site in another blog entry soon) and the Pearl Harbor memorial.

The postcard! 😉

Hawaii in Google Maps


A closer look at UNESCO WHS: Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park

13 05 2009

Name: Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
Country: Australia
Type: Mixed
Year of inscription: 1987, extended in 1994
The site in Google Maps

Uluru, also known as Ayers Rock, is a large sandstone rock formation located in the Northern Territory of central Australia. Uluru is sacred to the Aboriginal people of the area. It has many springs, waterholes, rock caves and ancient paintings. Uluru is listed as a World Heritage Site for both its natural and man-made qualities.

This is the postcard of Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park in my collection, this card shows actually only Uluru. Kata Tjuta is a site nearby but they are listed together:

Due to the lack of a postcard of Kata Tjuta, a photo. I will replace as soon as I receive a card of Kata Tjuta.

I have also visitid both sites myself. 🙂 We didn’t climb Uluru, because the place is sacred to the Aboriginal people, but we did the 10 km base walk early in the morning. At Kata-Tjuta we walked some kilometers on and between the rocks.